MY ELASTIC HEART; THE HOOKES LAW SLAYER

by Nneoma Ogbonna 

Science, the best teacher to most

To its best, explains every action and reaction;

Ranging from Newton and Boyle to Charles and Avogadro 

Then my favorite, Hookes.

To Hookes, the elasticity of all matters has limits.

For this reason alone I disagree, the nature of this heart of mine.
Like a bag of water 

You run a knife through me

Hoping I’ll bleed out evry drop in me

but like a were-wolf I shock you

in no time I heal
Like M.Ali you  use your last strength, 

Running your fist through me

With thoughts that I will turn blue-black

Like a rubber I surprise you

I thump out at the same time.
Like I am a cigarette, you light  me up

Expecting that I get fired-up 

So you smoke the life off me.

But like a thermo-resistant matter

I prove immune.
Like a German-shepherd,

You bark endlessly at me 

Believing I will have my ear-drums burst out.

But because I am sound-proof,

I hear nothing.
Not like I don’t have a heart to get hurt

But if u were Sia you’ll get it better.

Mine is not any elastic heart,

For  an elastic heart will at a point lose its elasticity

Becoming strained,

But mine will never lose it.
The elasticity of my heart is supernatural;

Beyond the understanding of science.

My heart has broken Hookes law

For the more force you exert to break me,

The more elastic I become,

Then you get more frustrated.
Don’t take me for a fool for staying back,

For I stoop to conquer

And will forever conquer.

Never will I lose my elasticity.

Never will I get strained.

Like a phoenix, I rise from the ashes! 

(COMPLETED ON SUNDAY, 17TH APRIL, 2016) 


©Nneoma Ogbonna 

Leave a comment